Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Diamond Collision Services AllenM's Avatar

9mm Target loads?

Anybody have a favorite recipe for loading 9mm target loads?
    I don't want these for self defense just accuracy.
    I have read that the subsonic 147gr bullets work well but anybody with some hands on experiance here?
    Blessed are those who in the face of evil can focus on the front sight.

Try working up loads using HS-6 combined with Winchester 115 grain JHP, or 115 grain FMJ-FB bullets. Both provide excellent accuracy and consistency for me.

Another bullet that works really well for me using 6.6 grains of HS-6 is the Speer 124 grain GDHP. But, please, work your loads up incrementally for safety... Otay, Dude?
    I am a peaceful man. But I am not a pacifist.

Yea I always do my own work ups sometimes I will try a load someone suggest if it is safely below max printed data.
    Thanks for the feed back though. I have never tried HS 6 before.

Master
    You want your practice load to have the same POI as your carry ammo. FWIW.
    AMERICA - Clinging to our GUNS and RELIGION since 1776.

NRA Certified Instructor - Rifle, Pistol
    www.danvilleconservationclub.org
    www.jpfrog.org

Marksman
    Ive had great luck with 115's and Vhit N320.

Keep in mind that most calibers will be their most accurate at the slower end of their velocity range.

Quote Originally Posted by Mike Elzinga View Post
    Ive had great luck with 115's and Vhit N320.

Keep in mind that most calibers will be their most accurate at the slower end of their velocity range.

I have been wanting to try Vihtavuori for some time now, I have never used it sounds like a good cartridge to experiment on.
    Thanks

Marksman