• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ptt811

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 26, 2010
    Fairbanks, IN
    I am not new to reloading but I am new to the 45 ACP, I have a rock Island. I got some brass, ordered a LEE 4 die set and tried to reload some tonight. I am using a 230 gr. round nose Lead bullet. I did 10 and tried to chamber some. They wouldn't let the slide close all the way, it was close but not closed. After messing around some I discovered that if I set the bullet a little deeper it worked fine. Question: My Chip Mc Cormick mag says overall length at least 1.260 ? At 1.260 mine wouldn't chamber. At 1.240 it worked great ! So.... Is this over all length critical ? I suspect the Bullet Dia. is trying to push inside the barrel as the bullet is stepped down some at the rounded part start. I haven't tried to fire the Gun as it was dark outside. Will the gun still function OK with the shorter over all length ?? Any help is appriciated.

Drail

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 13, 2008
    Bloomington