• Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Which small pistol primer would you buy?

• Total voters

philagothon

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jul 25, 2010
    On the 7th step
    My local reloading shop has stopped stocking CCI small pistol primers because the price has jumped on them. He says he can still order them, but they will be $35 per 1000. The Winchester primers are still $29/1000. I am brand new to reloading, so I don't have a favorite recipe yet that is dependent on primer. These will be primarily for 9mm & small primer 45ACP. I always hear of people raving on CCI and I never hear anything about Winchester primers. So, which would you go with and why?

I know I can probably find a better deal elsewhere, but I prefer buying local and don't mind paying a little more to do so.

ETA: I will either be hand priming or using the Lee Safety Prime on my Lee Classic Turret.

Last edited:

billybob44

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    383   0   0
    Sep 22, 2010
    In the Man Cave
    Primers??

I have/do use both. It's kind of a Ford vs. Chevy thing??
    The silver-nickle plate of the CCI seems a little slicker than the Brass-bronze finish on the Winchester, and MAY?? slide a little easier in primer tubes??
    I have not had a quality issue with either of these brands, so go for the one you want..Bill.

PS: My vote went to Winchester for the $6.00 savings..

Last edited:

wsenefeld

Master
    Rating - 100%
    69   0   0
    Dec 2, 2011
    Boone Co.
    I have/do use both. It's kind of a Ford vs. Chevy thing??