• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ctbreitwieser

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jun 14, 2011
    DuCo.
    So I've been contemplating reaming my .357 handi rifle to .358 Hoosier. While looking at the two, I got an idea. And made this...

It's a .358 Hoosier case loaded with a Hornady 158gr .357 XTP. I seated it so the base of the bullet is the same depth as my 180gr SSPS.

Now I am a novice reloader, but in my head. This would work just fine, and allow me to load a hotter charge and really make that bullet zing through the air.

Some questions I have are, if this will work...

Can I seat the bullet deeper and still be safe?

Can I bump up the powder charge and stay safe?

Can I do both simultaneously?

What type of accuracy might be expected from a 1:14 twist barrel?

OutdoorDad

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Apr 19, 2015
    Indianapolis
    So first... I'm by no means claiming status as an expert reloader. If I continue at my present pace, my lifetime count will be less than some make in a weekend on a progressive.

But I am deliberate. And careful. And I've done whacky things with brass and bullets when I knew there was never going to be any powder or primer involved. So no criticism on the "mock up".

I'm unable to find any load data that is for any bullet below 180 grain. Maybe it exists, but I can't find it.

This is a wildcat. Which means that VERY experienced people with TONS of experience have played around with it. And published the load data that they, as experts, felt was worth discussing.

Can I seat the bullet deeper and still be safe?
    Nope. Because you don't know what will happen and neither do I. And the wildcat developers didn't consider the possibility. So either there is no juice at the end of that squeeze, or its unsafe.

Can I bump up the powder charge and still be safe?