• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Doublehelix

Master
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Jun 20, 2015
    Westfield
    I am a total reloading newbie, so be nice! :)

I went to Bobcat Armament to get some more reloading supplies today. Kimball is the best, if you have not driven over to Shelbyville, you need to... great prices, no hazmat fees, great service.

Anyway, I wanted to pick up some Varget powder as I am wanting to start on some .223 reloads in the near future (I am trying to stock up now before the election). We got into a discussion on the difficulty in loading extruded powders like Varget using a drum-type powder loader.

I have read many times that the ball-type of powders are easier to dispense, which makes total sense and is pretty obvious, but should I just avoid extruded powders all together if I am not willing to verify every load? Is this just a newbie issue, or someday when I am all grown up (!), will I be able to reliably load powders like Varget through my Lee Drum Powder Dispenser?

SSGSAD

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Dec 22, 2009
    Town of 900 miles
    I have used Lee "scoops", for 30+ years..... RCBS Beam scale, and 5 or so years ago, "graduated" to an electronic scale.....

I have used a drum type powder loader, and you hear the powder, crunching, if you will,

and I always load light, so no problems .....

If you are loading MATCH, you want to weigh EVERY charge .....

for plinking, not so much ..... just check every 5th to 10th shell,

and if you sense trouble, dump, and re do .....

Broom_jm

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 10, 2009
    It all depends on the number of rounds you're wanting to load and whether or not you're willing to trust that powders are load by volume, not by weight. (The weight is just the convenient method we use to confirm volume.)

canterbc

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Jul 13, 2012
    Noblesville