• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • JJM7288

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    May 4, 2015
    Zionsville
    I am about ready to expand the shooting hobby into the wonderful world of reloading. After talking with Don and Marcel (FNS) and listening to some of the bowling pin competitors, my interest has grown.
    I’m a member of MCF& G so loading HP rifle ammunition is not a consideration since we’re limited to pistol calibers. Don’t see where I’ll embrace .375 SIG either, only calibers I shoot are .380, 9MM, .38-.357MAG and .45 auto.
    I have no experience in loading modern ammunition but have attention to detail and a very process oriented, so I don’t fear doing it as much. I’ve read the Lyman reloading manual and researched equipment and have limited choices to either a Dillon RL550B or Square Deal B. I’m aware of the limitations of the SDB, straight wall shells only and proprietary dies. I have a digital powder scale, tumbler, calipers and other items used in black powder shooting. It looks like the SDB is a good starting point for an inexperienced loader. If I get to a point where loading necked cartridges (which I doubt will happen) upgrading to the 550 or 650 would not be a problem. I like the short stroke of the SDB and compact design. The plan would be to order the necessary toolheads and dies for .38/.357, .380 and 9mm with the original purchase.
    So, looking for opinions from anyone that started out with a similar reloading plan and regrets, problems associated with the SDB that made it a PITA to use or switch calibers.
    I appreciate the input and Merry Christmas and Happy 2017!

rem788

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 19, 2009
    indy west