• ...and so much more!
  • Spear Dane

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Sep 4, 2015
    Kokomo area
    Hello,
    I intend to do precision shooting with 223 and 300 wm and also want to reload those and 50 Beo. I am hoping for equipment recommendations for this endeavor. I am a reloading newb. Thank you.

Doublehelix

Master
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Jun 20, 2015
    Westfield
    I am a total newbie as well, but from what I have read and learned, a high-end single-stage press like the Forster Co-Ax is a prime choice for precision loading. Redding precision dies also seem to be popular with the precision loading crew.

You will need a good scale, a great set of calipers, and then if you really want to complicate things, consider a Gracey neck turner and a Giraud case trimmer. How about a concentricy gauge? How about a Primal Rights CPS priming system? The list goes on and on...

I mention all of this as WAY OVERKILL, especially for a newbie. These are some of the tools of the top precision reloaders, and are WAY above anything that will make financial or technical sense for you when you are just starting out.

I would suggest instead that you start small and work your way up to precision loading slowly. It is an art and takes time (and a crap ton of money) to develop.

Now that we are closer down to earth, you should spend some time reading. Basic reloading information can be found in "The ABC's of Reloading" by James, and if you want more on precision reloading, you might want to consider "Handloading for Competition - Making the Target Smaller" by Glen Zediker. Lots of info there, but his writing style is "awkward" to pick a word to describe it.