Data for 9mm/115gr RN FMJ/Hodgdon Universal?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • modelflyer2003

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 8, 2009
    Eastern Indiana
    I am new to reloading. I have just about gathered all I need. I ordered 1000 115 gr. 9mm RN DS from Berry Manufacturing. The only powder I could find local to avoid the Hazmat fee (!) was Hodgdon Universal. The reloading manual I have is Lyman 49th Edition. On page 340-342 is 9mm loading information. On the Hodgdon data from the website there is no listing for 115 gr. RN except lead (assuming LRN means lead round nose). Would it be safe to use LRN for FMJ RN? Does anyone have a book that will tell me what the proper load min and max load and overall length are for a Berry 115 gr RN FMJ with Hodgdon Unversal powder and CCI 500 small pistol primers? :dunno:
    http://data.hodgdon.com/cartridge_load.asp

kboom524

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jan 19, 2009
    New Haven
    I would use the load data on the Hodgdon data page for the 115gr Spr GDHP for Universal powder. Starting load 4.5grs. Bullet weight is the same only difference is Hollow point vs FMJ. For length use the lenght listed for 115gr FMJ and WSF powder 1.169. As always start with the minimum load and work your way up.

m_deaner

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 1, 2008
    Eastside Indy
    Last I knew, Barry's only makes plated bullets.
    If so, they are not FMJ and you should use data for lead bullets (often identified as LRN or LTC in load charts).

kboom524

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0