• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • bobzilla

Mod in training (in my own mind)
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 1, 2010
    Brownswhitanon.
    So we had a gas fireplace installed 2 years ago to supplement out heating and have a source of heat in case we lose electric out here in the sticks of Boone County. Wife ran it last night to make the house toasty when I came home. Went to turn it on this morning and the pilot light is out. Got out and flip to the reserve tank (we run it off of 100lb tanks) even though the tank it was on was still ~half full.

Cannot get the pilot to light. I've tried turning the valve off and on here inside and the one outside as well. Can't seem to get any flow.

Suggestions? Any INGO'rs know gas/fireplaces?

bocefus78

Master
    Rating - 100%
    39   0   0
    Apr 9, 2014
    Hamilton Co.
    I'm not a pro in this area but I'd guess it's only got a few parts that would cause this. Thermocouple, or an electronic valve that opens the gas flow would be 2 areas I'd be looking for. It can't be much different than a water heater I wouldn't think.

Google up a manual for the unit and check the troubleshooting section. It should point you to a starting point of things to check.

Tactically Fat

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    22   0   0
    Oct 8, 2014
    Indiana
    Can you get to the pilot with a brush of some kind?

Maybe try a nice stiff toothbrush and really work on cleaning it to see if that doesn't help.

HoughMade

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 24, 2012
    Valparaiso
    A 2 year old gas insert has a standing pilot and not electronic ignition? I thought standing pilots went extinct a long time ago.

Other than what has been suggested (thermocouple, valve) I've got nothing.

indiucky

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Try this...Just trust me...Get one of these......
    144170.jpg