• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rookie

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Sep 22, 2008
    Kokomo
    My friend gave me some chunks of lead for my lead sled, but they need to be reshaped in order to be useable. I was looking at lost foam casting, but I've never done it before. My main issue is the sand mold. Has anyone ever used this method? Has anyone ever sand cast? Does anyone have other suggestions?

HamsterStyle

Master
    Rating - 100%
    33   0   0
    Jul 27, 2010
    Carthage
    I know there are a ton of videos of homemade forges and casting aluminum on YouTube. I would imagine the process is the same for lead. You may check it out. I offer no real.info other than I have looked a lot into the aluminum stuff because I think the kids would love it. And I'd love to have a forge and play with fire as well.

1DOWN4UP

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Mar 25, 2015
    North of 30
    Lead melts at 600 degrees.Polystyrene will work fine for a pattern.Stay away from closed cell foam because it is made with butane.50 grit clean sand will make a course finish.150 grit will have fine finish.Add water to sand till 6 % moisture.Have good ventilation.

Last edited:

1DOWN4UP

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Mar 25, 2015
    North of 30
    Also you can melt Zinc(melts 800 degrees )with a kitchen stove or a torch(you do not need a kiln.).For anyone wanting to play,learn to ID Zinc,from Aluminum and Magnesium (both melt at 1200 degrees)Also,learn to ID Magnesium,because you can not mix it with Zinc or Aluminium.It will cause a fire which is VERY hard to put out.You can mix Aluminum and Zinc.

Last edited:

femurphy77

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Mar 5, 2009
    S.E. of disorder
    We did some sand casting in 7th grade shop class; of course that was back in the dark ages before electricity when they still taught those types of things in public schools.

dprimm