Brandishing. Why are some people allowed, and others aren't?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rbhargan

Sharpshooter
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Aug 30, 2012
    Carmel/Liberty
    I am not a lawyer. I am a newbie to firearms. But this has me scratching my head.

I have heard that you should NEVER draw a firearm unless you feel that you (or someone near you) is in imminent danger of death or grave bodily harm, and that your next action WILL be shooting at the aggressor - not cajoling them into "backing off." OK, I can understand that. Drawing a firearm simply because you *think* that someone *may* pose a threat, may result in you being charged with "brandishing" a firearm.

So why is it that a LEO can draw down on an individual on mere suspicion that they *may* pose a threat?

Why are the rules of engagement different for a citizen and a LEO?

Just curious.

Dead Duck

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    53   0   0
    Apr 1, 2011
    I've never heard of "Brandishing" since moving to Indiana. :dunno:

Isn't that something you do to cattle?

SSGSAD

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Dec 22, 2009
    Town of 900 miles
    IANAL but I don't think there are brandishing laws in Indiana.

I am "undergoing" training by my employer. The LEO, tells me, that if you "show" someone your firearm, "in a threatenig manner" he will arrest you, for POINTING a FIREARM....

He explains it like intimidation .....

nakinate

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    May 1, 2013
    Noblesville