• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    May 6, 2012
    Mishawaka
    I'm pretty new to guns and since I have several small children in my home, I have a few questions that may seem like noob questions, but I'm sometimes over analytical.

I have a fingerprint safe for storage of my guns and ammo. The backup key (in case the batteries die) is always in my truck in the garage so that my children can't get into it (best deterrent that I can think of.)

I've often read that the guns and ammo should be stored separately, but I'm wondering why?

I've also read that the guns in the safe should be unloaded, and again, I ask why? (mostly asking because I do not know the answer to the question)

My logic (which may be flawed and is limited) states that if I'm forced to open the safe against my will, at least there's a loaded one in there that can be a last resort. I certainly don't want my ammo anywhere that my children may have access to it, so, should I get another safe for the ammo to keep it separate from the guns?

Any insight is much appreciated. I'm not worried about right or wrong, just wondering 'why' these things are recommended. I certainly want to be as safe as possible and these ideals had me wondering how I might be unsafe in my actions.

PGRChaplain

Master
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Jan 13, 2011
    Waynedale (FT Wayne)
    All my guns are in my safe but 2. One "Nightstand" gun in the bedroom. The other resides in a hidden quick access safe. , All guns in the safe are empty, an added safety to avoid an accidential discharge. The ammo is with the reloading gear in another room, not visiable. I'm not a show & tell guy with my guns at home.I save that for the range. One component every Safe needs is Damp Rid, it removes moisture from the air.

Sylvain

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0