• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • pwoller

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 22, 2012
    Indianapolis
    I have a Rossi .44 mag lever gun that I want to deer hunt with. Question for the experts....Should I use a scope, red dot or stick with the iron sights. I'm thinking that around 100 yards will be the max I would shoot this rifle out to. What are the benefits and drawbacks of the different set ups? I searched around for suggestions but didn't have much luck getting answers. Also what is the ammo of choice for others using this gun for deer hunting?

Needmorammo

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 3, 2014
    Columbus
    I am not an expert, but I use a marlin 1894 44 mag with red dot scope and Hornady leverelution ammo. Killer combo for me. Also something to think about, is the Rossi top eject? If so that can make a scope interesting.

pwoller

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 22, 2012
    Indianapolis
    I am not an expert, but I use a marlin 1894 44 mag with red dot scope and Hornady leverelution ammo. Killer combo for me. Also something to think about, is the Rossi top eject? If so that can make a scope interesting.

Its top eject but apperantly there is a way to moutn scopes and red dots. How far out are you willing to shoot a deer with that combo?

Henry

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 18, 2014
    Athome
    No need for glass with Indiana deer...like you said, 100 YDS is pretty much tops.

Skinner peeps work well... Marble is another alternative if you expect to be shooting further.

For deer, irons work pretty well out to 200-300.

Rating - 100%
    17   0   0
    Jan 29, 2013
    Mars Hill
    I like a scope as Allen said 2-7. The magnification will help to see any little limbs or branches that can affect the shot. The drawback will be slower acquisition speed of the target.