Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 4 5 11 ... LastLast

New Report on Police Militarization via The Daily Beast

New report on the sources and rationale for the increased militarization of police in the USA which I thought would be of interest to INGO.

Sources at link:

The Daily Beast, Center for Investigative Reporting Take On Police Militarization | The Agitator
    I ALWAYS approve of the use of haiku

Very good read and all to true.
    Quote Originally Posted by SkullDaddy.45 View Post
    At least there was no mention of midget strippers or hookers!!

I cut grass for a living

Expert
    It is disturbing and I don't like it. I can see a use for SWAT teams but I think the problem is how they are used, afterall they have to justify their existence. However, acquiring gear like armored vehicles is excessive.

Another story:

Local Cops Ready for War With Homeland Security-Funded Military Weapons - The Daily Beast

Hey, as long as they get home safely at night...

And for that epic confrontation—if it ever occurs—officers can now summon a new $256,643 armored truck, complete with a rotating turret.
    Yeah, but all the cool kids have them.

Those chickens in Fargo better behave themselves.

Bad chickens, bad chickens, what ya gonna do, what ya gonna do when they drive a tank for you.
    I ALWAYS approve of the use of haiku

Plinker
    "Every city squad car is equipped today with a military-style assault rifle, and officers can don Kevlar helmets able to withstand incoming fire from battlefield-grade ammunition."

Yea, I can't imagine why an officer would ever need such gear...actually, I can. Here are a few incidents which immediately come to mind, because they occurred here in Indy.

Officer Down: To the Sound of Guns - Training - LawOfficer.com

Of all the articles that can be found detailing the above incident, this one is probably the most accurate.

Deputy Jason Baker

Suspect with assault rifle opens fire, injures officer - 13 WTHR