• ...and so much more!
  • Status
    Not open for further replies.

Scutter01

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 21, 2008
    Spasmo and I took a trip up to Cabela's in Hammond this afternoon. It was warm outside, so I took off my cover, exposing my XD worn IWB but oustide my tucked-in shirt.

We shopped in the store for maybe 30 minutes, acquiring maybe $150 in prospective purchases. We weren't bothering anybody, and in fact prior to entering the store had a friendly conversation with a couple from Michigan who had inquired about my pistol.

Eventually, a store employee came up to me and asked me if I was a police officer. I said no, and she told me that her "AP" (whatever that is) said that I have to leave. When I asked her why, I was told "Because we shouldn't have to look at that" pointing at my pistol. Apparently, unless I'm a LEO, having a visible pistol is highly offensive. I told her that Cabela's stated corporate policy was to follow the laws of Indiana and she insisted again that "we shouldn't have to look at that and my AP says you need to leave". I'll also note that they had a sign posted similar to Gander Mountain's sign, regarding checking any firearms, but LTCH holders were exempted. After the exchange, I said "Fine. We're leaving." I put my selections down and we walked out.

Now, I'm not complaining about being asked to leave for carrying a firearm (although I feel I have every right to complain about that). No, what I'm really upset about is that not only is Cabela's staff just not getting the message from their corporate officers, but that they decided to treat me like a second-class citizen. "We shouldn't have to look at that". Really, Cabela's? You sell firearms but you shouldn't have to look at someone actually carrying one? What kind of ridiculous ******* hypocrites are you?