• ...and so much more!
  • lovemywoods

Geek in Paradise!
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    50   0   0
    Mar 26, 2008
    Brown County
    I’ve been using these target stands on a home range for a few years now. After posting pictures of a wood stand I recently built to hold a steel plate (https://www.indianagunowners.com/fo...stand_for_long_distance_steel.html#post807504) some fellow INGOers asked that I post more about the portable stands.

I wanted a stand that was easy to move, weather resistant, easy to build, and not too costly. I settled on PVC bases because they met my criteria.

Target stand with new backer board
    2s0d0dj.jpg

Backside of the stand
    dwrkzk.jpg

Target base
    2v7unih.jpg

The base starts as a 10’ section of 1.5” PVC. Cut that into 8 pieces each 15” long. I used a table saw to cut the pipe, but most any saw will work. It’s nice to have the ends cut square, but not an absolute requirement. Clean any burrs off the cut ends.

You’ll also need the following 1.5” PVC fittings:
    4 elbows
    2 tees

When gluing PVC, you first spread cleaner on the outside of the pipe and inside of the fitting. Then spread glue on both surfaces and push them together. Hold the pieces together for about 10-15 seconds and it’s good to go. Work one joint at a time. If you’re unsure about how to glue joints, there are many websites with instructions. Here’s one: HOW TO CUT AND GLUE PVC PIPE

I started by gluing the elbows on the pieces that form the outer part of the base. Then I glued the three straight pieces into each tee, and then I glued the tee assemblies to the outer parts taking care that the upright portions of the target stand pointed straight up. It’s helpful to make some pencil marks on the pipe to show how it should align. With PVC glue, you only get one chance! Let the glue joints dry 2-3 hours before using them.

PVC Cleaner and Glue
    2s13vhh.jpg