• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • DaCoach

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Feb 20, 2010
    Greenwood
    I am in the market for a new 1911. I am looking for something in the $1200-2000 range. I looked at a Dan Wesson Valor, Kimber Gold, and Ed Brown but I am really no expert on 1911's. I already own a Springfield, so I do not want another one. Any suggestions?

451_Detonics

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Mar 28, 2010
    North Central Indiana
    You should sit down and list everything you want in a 1911, all the features, caliber, size...just figure out exactly what you want and then look. I know what I want in my next 1911 for example and it is going to require me to build it rather than buy it as no one makes exactly what I want. Building your own is not a bad way to go as you can make it specifically for you.

Jay

Gotta watch us old guys.....cause if you don't....
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 19, 2008
    Near Marion, IN
    You're welcome to shoot my Valor if you're interested. I don't own any of the others you mentioned.

iChokePeople

Master
    Rating - 100%
    51   0   1
    Feb 11, 2011
    Of those listed, I'd go with the Ed Brown, but unless you find a good deal or used gun, it'll run you a little more than the price range you listed. If you don't want to go to the high end of your price range like that, the Dan Wesson would probably be next for me.

Note that I'm ignoring all other guns besides those in your narrowed field, but there are other great options out there in that price range.

Octomonkey

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 19, 2009
    Markle
    Too bad on not wanting another Springfield. I have a Springfield 1911 Operator and I love it.

It has a ton of features and is a high quality piece.

And I only paid $1000 for it, so even a little under what you're willing to spend.

43524.jpg

Last edited:

DaCoach

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0