• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • steveh_131

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 3, 2009
    Porter County
    I'm sharing this experience for any other Glock 21SF owners who may have similar issues.

This was my first handgun purchase. It's the model with the slightly shorter frame, ambidextrous mag release and Picatinny rail. I've been carrying it daily for about 5 years now. Great gun.

The only issue I've had is the unreliable mag release. The button is really difficult to press, and sometimes sticks in place. After thorough research, I come to find out that many people share this complaint about this model. Apparently Glock only manufactured a limited number of them and dropped the design when issues became wide-spread.

Interestingly, they are offering replacement service, free of charge, for these handguns. I called today and the gentleman offered to replace the frame with one without the ambidextrous mag release, as well as replace both magazines (it requires special magazines). The only thing I'll pay is shipping costs to send it to them. He said it would probably be a 2-4 week turnaround time.

My only complaint is that I'll have a gun with mismatched serial numbers, and I'm really not sure how big a deal that is. I have heard that some folks were offered an exchange for a new Gen 4 Glock 21, so I'm going to attempt to negotiate for that once they've had a chance to look at it. I might even pay for the upgrade if they're willing, I've read great things about the Gen 4.

Hopefully this will be helpful for any other INGO members who may have this issue. I am very pleased with Glock's customer service so far.

steveh_131

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 3, 2009
    Porter County
    Not sure if anyone cared, but I promised an update:

Glock had me ship them the gun. Apparently you're required to ship it overnight express, so it cost me $70 for shipping alone. That's the only downside.