• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Brad69

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 16, 2016
    Perry county
    Ok I have been asked numerous times by friends and neighbors. What kind of handgun should I get For CC.
    They assume that being retired from the Army I am a CC expert. I carried and qualified with the.45 and the M9. In 24 years I drew my pistol twice one time I was not armed with anything else the other was to look into a tunnel.
    I have received some very high speed training and shot so much at times I was sick of it (thanks taxpayers).
    Here is how I recommend a handgun

1. Do you shoot?
    The answer is usually I shot a weapon once as a kid or I hunt once in awhile.

2. How often do you plan on practice or take a class?
    The answer is I don't know or not much.

My standard recommendation is a.22 revolver! Yes no knockdown power which is a myth by the way. If they are not going to put the effort to train on on a regular basis my logic is to keep it simple. Auto pistols are harder to operate do not like to be limp wristed. Recoil and blast can be intimidating to the novice and can induce flinching that is hard to retrain. I helped a lady that had bought a G43 that jammed at least once on every magazine. I could fire it all day long with no malfunctioning. She did not have the strength in her wrists and hands to allow it to function correctly. I let her shoot my S&W shield which she could shoot with no malfunctions. I have seen some awful choices for CC the Judge .410/45 is a popular one that is not for the timid. One poor woman was terrified of that thing closed her eyes and jerked the trigger. She was a good shot with its replacement a PT111 nice pistol with light recoil.
    I carry a Sig 250c, S&W shield, Glock17, and occasionally a nickel S&W M19.
    So let's hear your ideas on my advice?

GodFearinGunTotin

Super Moderator
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0