• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • 71silverbullet

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    36   0   0
    Oct 30, 2010
    Southern, In
    First off, full disclosure...I have not shot factory loads with this gun. I reload on a Dillon 550, using Winchester primers of 2 different lots.
    I acquired this gun used, and it has non-factory springs and parts of unknown manufacture. It is misfiring about 50%. Sometimes they will fire on second try, and sometimes they will not. The ammo seems fine when fired in my other revolvers. The primers do not appear to me to be "high"
    I have disassembled the gun and cleaned the striker channel, no problems there.
    I'm leaning towards the springs as the culprit. I'm not a Glock expert and don't know what springs to replace or where to get them.
    Suggestions? (other than try factory ammo, I will do that this week)
    Also would like this to be a carry gun not a range toy.

shibumiseeker

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    49   0   0
    Nov 11, 2009
    near Bedford on a whole lot of land.
    First off try different ammo including some factory. I know you said this, but it's the easiest thing. Winchester LPP tend to be on the harder end as they are both used for magnum and regular pressure rounds.

The striker pin itself may be a little peened, or whoever was monkeying with it before may not have known what they were doing. The striker channel liner can be gouged or roughened in installation and cause drag. In short there are a number of reasons. You can get all parts from Lone Wolf Distributors (among many places) and Glocks are ridiculously easy to work on. The only caveat is if you decide to pull the striker channel liner you will destroy it getting it out and it is well worth buying several as they are probably the most difficult part of the gun to work on.