Not open for further replies.

mercop

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 21, 2008
    PA
    ESS ICE Kit & RX Insert Review

At the SHOT Show, I stopped by the ESS booth and picked up one of their ICE Tactical Kits. I have been wearing glasses since I was three years old. During my military and law enforcement careers, wearing prescription eyewear presented some problems with protective masks, but the idea of wearing contacts and leaving my eyes unprotected never appealed to me. Not to mention seeing the effects that OC has on contacts.

Because of having very photosensitive eyes, I switch off between my regular glasses and a pair of RX Oakley sunglasses. A few months ago, during some horseplay with my kids, I snapped my regular glasses in half and had to spend two days wearing my sunglasses for everything until my replacements came in. I wanted to have another pair of regular glasses on hand in the event that I broke either my regular glasses or Oakley’s. What I couldn’t justify was spending a few hundred dollars on something I “might” need.

The majority of MCS classes involve force on force and we require eye protection. I usually wear goggles to save my glasses. After checking out the ICE Tactical Kit and finding that it accepted RX inserts, I decided to give it a shot. In the past, I had my reservations about using any kind of a RX insert or having a prescription filled by mail, but I conceded. The Tactical Kit retails for $85 and includes the following-

ESSI.jpg

Rose Copper Lens with Foliage Green Frames
    Clear Lens with Black Frames
    Hi-Def Yellow lens with black nose piece
    Op-Drops Anti-Fog Solution
    Microfiber Storage pouch / Cleaning Cloth
    Elastic Retention Strap
    Protective Hard Case