• ...and so much more!
  • K_W

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Aug 14, 2008
    Indy / Carmel
    My father asks:

What are the relevant laws regarding brandishing or when you can justifiably display a firearm in a defensive situation?

Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    May 6, 2012
    Mishawaka
    indiana does not have a law with regard to brandishing. They do have a law about pointing a firearm at someone. basically, in my opinion, if you draw, it better be because youre going to use it. if the perp stops or backs down befoe he gets ventilated, you're still ok.

I am not a lawyer though, and ymmv.

TheSpark

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 26, 2013
    IANAL

Indiana has no brandishing laws. Technically, if you are legally allowed to carry a handgun in Indiana you could do so by carrying it with your hand :):. Yes, you could legally walk down the street holding a loaded handgun in your hand. You could even continually go from holster to hand and back to holster as much as you wanted. Granted though you will draw a police response, likely be held at gun point, taken to the ground, cuffed, and spend a good hour of your life waiting in the back of a police car while the officers find out they have nothing to charge you with.

However, just because something is legal does not mean you should do it.

As for "brandishing" in a potential self defense situation things get mucky. Although there is no law against brandishing in Indiana there are laws for pointing the firearm and intimidation. You could get in a sticky situation for either of those. In my opinion if you draw in a scenario like this without the intent (yet) to fire then you are doing so for intimidation reasons. Which, may be okay but you may also have to end up proving you needed to in court.

Paul30

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 16, 2012