• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • shadowmun43

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 20, 2011
    I guess my question is why in the world would a gun company put a gold in color buffer soft aluminum in a new gun? I shot 126 rounds and it chewed up the edge about a 1/4" in diameter and pretty deep too, I see some buffers have an H stamped in the middle what is a good one to buy for a semi auto? and the buffer spring is black should I change that as well? thanks and look forward to your guy's advice.:dunno:

LEaSH

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    Aug 10, 2009
    Indianapolis
    Something is not right and it probably isn't the quality of the buffer. You can get a brand new one of premium quality and it will end up damaged also.

If you can post a picture it would give the experts here a better idea - I'm no AR expert by the way.

I'd check to make sure the spring loaded retainer/pin that mounts vertically (in the rear of lower) is intact.

I don't think the buffer would travel beyond it a whole 1/4" but close.

When you separate the upper and lower does the buffer stay in the tube?

shadowmun43

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 20, 2011
    The 1/4" is the ware on the rim of the circle not in depth, The retainer chewed up the edge pretty bad like the buffer was made of soft materal,and yes I'll be posting some pictures soon learning how to do it on this site,thanks for your input

jblomenberg16

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    67   0   0
    Mar 13, 2008
    Southern Indiana
    As an FYI, the "H" stamp in the middle refers to the weight of the buffer. H = Heavy, which is heavier than the standard Carbine Buffer. H2 is even heavier.