• ...and so much more!
  • worddoer

Master
    Rating - 100%
    42   0   1
    Jul 25, 2011
    Wells County
    https://www.samcoglobal.com/1-1916.html

I found the link above for a Spanish Mauser in .308. I have been thinking of getting a bigger bore rifle as all my rifles are AR-15's in 5.56. I have also been nostalgic lately and have had the hank'rn for a curio / relic gun.

This rifle meets both of my requirements, seems to be at a VERY fair price at $170, and I should never have any issues with finding ammo for it in the long term.

However, I have no experience with Mausers and I don't know if these would be good shooters or only good for a mantle piece. I'm not looking for the prettiest thing out there. I will take an ugly one if they are good shooters.

What say you INGO? Is this a good deal?

joncon

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Mar 30, 2013
    Bartholomew County
    I bought one from the same co. in the late 80's or early 90's. I was a FFL at the time and my price was around $160 for collector grade. Collector grade was matching #'s and nice stock. I shot around 50-60 rounds through it before I sold it. Never had any problems, and it was accurate for what it was.

nrar15

Sharpshooter
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    42   0   0
    Oct 23, 2009
    Attica
    Don't shoot any really hot ammo through it. It is a small ring Mauser like the 6.5x55 Swedish Mauser. Good little shooters, Good deal for the money.

DoggyDaddy

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    73   0   1
    Aug 18, 2011
    Southside Indy
    I use 7.62 NATO in mine too. In fact that's pretty much all I use, even in my Israeli K98 which is certainly strong enough for 308. It just makes it easier that way (and cheaper).

rob63

Master
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    May 9, 2013
    FWIW, the Spanish version of 7.62 is even lower pressure than the NATO version, so the conversion was never intended to be used with high pressure ammo.