• Do you compete with what you carry?

• Total voters

chezuki

Human
    Rating - 100%
    48   0   0
    Mar 18, 2009
    Behind Bars
    This came up in another thread and someone mentioned it would make an interesting poll... I agree, so here it is.

This question is primarily geared towards Production shooters (and I suppose IDPA guys, though I know nothing about your divisions).

Do you compete with the gun or guns (or at least the same model) that you actually carry on a daily basis? If not, why?

For me, I started shooting USPSA Production a couple years ago with my carry gun (a full size M&P9). About half way through the season when I realized how many rounds I was putting through my daily carry, I picked up an M&P9 Pro to use as a dedicated competition gun that could still mirror and share mags with what I carry.

Last edited:

Drail

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 13, 2008
    Bloomington
    I have competed for years in USPSA with a single stack 1911 and it serves that purpose very well. My daily carry gun for even more years has always been a DA revolver. As much as I love 1911s and action shooting sports I simply do not trust a 1911 for carry use only because I have seen so many of them fail in competition for various reasons. Understand I am not claiming that a 1911 cannot be set up to be a reliable weapon but at the same time there are so many little things that can stop one from working. Revolvers can fail to function also but it is MUCH more rare in my experience. I also compete with revolvers and my experience has been that while they may be more reliable they do require more skill to shoot fast and accurately. But it can be learned if you work at it.

loony1

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 17, 2010
    Southside Indy
    I started competing IDPA with my edc (glock 19) and did fairly well. However, I have worked on a new, "dedicated" pistol recently and it is a glock 34 gen 4.

Vince49

Master
    Rating - 100%