• Why have you not taken trining?

• Total voters

jagee

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Jan 19, 2013
    New Palestine
    I know I need to. I want to. I just haven't scheduled it.

Lazy? Yeah, probably.
    Poor? Well, just spend money on other things...
    Busy? Yeah, priorities, gotta figure out the order...

chezuki

Human
    Rating - 100%
    48   0   0
    Mar 18, 2009
    Behind Bars
    I hadn't had any training until a couple years ago, but since then I've been as much of a training junkie as my schedule and finances have allowed.

Until I started training, I truely didn't know how much I didn't know. I felt confident enough just having a gun on me, and at that point, nothing had challenged that confidence. I could stand on a range and punch holes in paper from "self defense" distances and further pretty consistently, so I figured I was good to go.

BehindBlueI's

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Oct 3, 2012
    I truely didn't know how much I didn't know. I felt confident enough just having a gun on me, and at that point, nothing had challenged that confidence.

I think that's where a lot of people are, and why the good guys lose as much as they do. In the past two weeks we've had people two people fail to effectively use their handgun to interrupt a crime. One did not involve injury but did involve loss of the handgun in the struggle. The other was less lucky and injury occurred.

Simply having a gun is often not enough. The poor success ratio is actually what motivated me to offer the class with Coach. I'd rather see more of you win.

MCgrease08

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    37   0   0
    Mar 14, 2013
    Earth
    I think a lot of people just get hung up on not knowing where to start.

Someone who has been around guns their whole life and shooting for 20 years + probably doesn't want to take a basic pistol class because they may feel it's beneath their level.