• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • mikescetme

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 17, 2012
    Indianapolis
    im new to reloading , just getting stuff , where would a good place to find 7.62x51 brass , dont want to shot 308 in my m14 , or is there a safe 308 for m14 ?? im only doing 9mm , 5.6 , 7.62 nato and 50 bmg . thank you for ideas for brass , ohhh yaaa cheap lol

INP8riot

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 17, 2023
    West Central
    Reloading for an M14/M1a is not necessarily easy. From OAL, to making sure the primers are seated deep enough to prevent a slam fire, to case trimming, resizing every reload. You can use .308 cases, but keep the case internal volume in mind. It messes with case pressure and velocity.

I started by reloading for my M1a so it's not impossible, but certain powders must be used for the burn rate or you risk damaging the op rod.

If you buy off the shelf stuff, make sure it says its good for an M1a. Any hot 308 hunting load will do damage. Maybe not right away like blow up in your face, but over time it will take its toll. There are certain military rounds that can be used.

Clear as mud right?! Once you find the exact parameters and projectiles and powder, you can then fine tune for your rifle.

I found some IMI new 7.62x51 cases a while back. Not great but not bad. I wanted to load up 1000 rounds all to the same paramters once I found the sweet spot.

You can find Lake City stuff, but if its once fired, you will need to swage the primer pocket.

I run 5.56 through my Dillon progressive, but all my 7.62 is single staged in batches on my RCBS turret press for precision.

Last edited:
    Rating - 100%
    129   0   0
    Jan 28, 2009
    When looking for reloading data, look for 7.62x52mm "Service Rifle Loads".
    Stick to that Data parameters and you will be fine for the M1A.
    Commercial brass that is sized and trimmed to proper length will be fine.

mikescetme