• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rcdouble2

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 27, 2012
    I was never told to shoot with one eye closed, so I never did. As a kid I shot a ton of BB's from Daisy BB guns, with both eyes open I could see the path of the BB when shot. It wasn't until I tried to shoot a rifle with a scope, that I had to close one eye. I struggled with that for a while.

jgreiner

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jul 13, 2011
    Lafayette, IN
    I am new to working on this, I've always shot with my left eye shut while firing right handed. The last two range trips I have been working on this, its different but I'm happy with the results. I'm wondering if others work on this as well or if I'm just very late to this party.

Perhaps some tips, tricks, advice, that will help me be a better shooter.

I started practicing with both eyes open last summer. And I am now just as proficient as I was the other way, but I now have much better situational vision (I can see what is going on AROUND the target far better). And that is indeed the goal of it.

mercop

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 21, 2008
    PA
    The good thing is that if you are attacked regardless of how you have trained both of your eyes will be wide open. Vision is our primary way to gather information so it stands to reason that if we are under attacked our reptilian brain takes over which keeps both eyes open to take in as much information as fast as possible.- George

GIJEW

Master
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Mar 14, 2009
    I have an astigmatism too. I use a 1/2x squint (looks like clint eastwood)that gives me some of the benefit of shooting eyes open without the double vision.
    I shoot with both eyes open when stationary. My astigmatism, I guess, causes me to see two guns, but I always use the left one. It is very easy with little practice.