• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • dburkhead

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 18, 2008
    As I mentioned before, I'm just getting started at hunting. (Went on my first squirrel hunt this past Saturday--planning on going again this upcoming Saturday).

At the moment, the only things legal are squirrels and frogs. I'm pretty much not interested in frogs, so "what to hunt" is pretty much decided for me right now. However, soon, a number of other seasons will be opening: Ruffed Grouse and Deer Early Archery on Oct 1 (this is the only archery season I list here because I'm not ready to get into archery hunting at this time, but I list this one because I have tentative invites to "tag along"); Fox, Coyote, and Fall Turkey Firearm on Oct 15; and Pheasant, Quail, and Rabbit on Nov 7, and then, of course, "the big one" deer firearm on Nov 15.

A couple of questions:

Is it better, as a beginner to stick to one or two game animals or better to sample a variety? I'm doing squirrel now and I'm planning on trying deer when the season rolls around. Would I be well advised to consider others or just stick to those, or also try some others for variety?

Note that I don't have hunting dogs and none of my "social circle" hunts so except for what I get on groups like this one, I don't have much in the way of mentoring, advice, or hunting companions. So far, my weapons of choice are a Ruger 10/22 with a scope and a Mossberg 500 12 ga with both a vent rib barrel (screw in chokes for Mod, Imp. Cyl. and Full choke) and a cantilever rifled barrel (scope just arrived, not yet installed or boresighted).

Indy_Guy_77

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Apr 30, 2008
    I'm of the conservative lot... "do a few things, and do them well" tends to serve better than doing lots of things, and none of them well...