Is it possible to convert a Beretta 96FS to shoot 9mm?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Goober135

Expert
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Jul 15, 2011
    Valparaiso
    Hello! I recently purchased a Beretta 96FS. I am a huge fan of Beretta's 96 & 92 style handguns. The only problem is that I would rather have a 9mm instead of .40 S&W. A friend of mine has a 92A1. I'm no expert, but they look dang near identical. Is it possible to get a 9mm conversion kit? If possible, what would you all recommend?

Thanks!
    John

*EDIT* - I did some searching from my phone and found kits to convert to .22lr. I also found a kit to convert a 92 to 96 but not vice versa. Is there any reason a 92new could host a 96 but not the other way around? :dunno:

Last edited:

indykid

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 27, 2008
    Westfield
    I know that Beretta made a 92/96 Combo kit that had one frame and a 9mm barrel and slide, and a .40S&W barrel and slide. I believe, but don't quote me, that there is a very slight difference in the bullet guide between the two calibers, but guessing that it must not make much of a difference if Beretta did sell a combo kit.

I do know for a fact though that the slides and barrels are interchangeable between the two calibers. I believe that even the locking block is the same for either. Would guess the only other difference would be the recoil spring (obviously :) )

Osobuco

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    22   0   0
    Sep 4, 2010