• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Johnny C

Master
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    May 18, 2009
    Solsberry , In
    So, since thinner profile barrels heat up faster and cool faster, I was thinking.

Does the barrel get hotter behind the gas block since that is closer to the "explosion"?

If this is so, does anyone make a barrel that is heavier behind the gas block but pencil thin in front of the gas block?

Would flutes behind the gas block allow faster cooling since there is more surface area in a fluted barrel?

See where I am going with this?

Johnny C

mjelder

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    18   0   0
    Dec 12, 2010
    West lafayette/Columbus
    I'm no expert, but logically I would have to say that the barrel behind the gas block doesn't heat any more than the rest of the barrel. The explosion that pushes the bullet out of the barrel is contained and doesn't disperse until it exits the barrel. That along with the friction of the bullet (which is a lot more than most people think) causes the barrel to heat relatively even throughout.

I have had some experience with fluted barrels and I don't really buy into them that much. The extra surface area you get on the barrel for cooling really doesnt make it that much more lighter or that much faster to cool from what I have seen. Maybe others have different opinions on this?

chuddly

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Jan 17, 2012
    Eminence, IN
    the barrel definatly does get hotter by the chamber. NO QUESTION ABOUT THAT. Go out and shoot your gun until it just starts to warm up. there will be quite a difference from chamber end to the exit end. Who ever says there isnt has never been out shooting that much.

Now once they get up to full temp i dont know if there is enough of a difference to make a real difference but i can for sure tell you that the chamber end heats up much faster.

jrainw

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jul 20, 2008