• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • mpmike25

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 14, 2012
    Greenfield, IN
    Ok everybody I have decided to start reloading because I want to stockpile ammo. I don't know whats good and whats not and I want something that can reload rifle and pistol. I'd really prefer one that does rifle, pistol, and shotgun. I am new to this so I don't know what all I would need and what would do all my calibers, i'm lost. Someone please help me get whats needed so I can start learning. Thank you.

teddy12b

Grandmaster
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    40   0   0
    Nov 25, 2008
    Ok everybody I have decided to start reloading because I want to stockpile ammo. I don't know whats good and whats not and I want something that can reload rifle and pistol. I'd really prefer one that does rifle, pistol, and shotgun. I am new to this so I don't know what all I would need and what would do all my calibers, i'm lost. Someone please help me get whats needed so I can start learning. Thank you.

Basically, most presses will do both common pistol calibers and common rifle calibers (this is referred to as metallic reloading), but you're not going to find that and shotgun shell reloading (I could be wrong, but I don't think I am).

If you're wanting to stockpile ammo, you're talking about quantity and you'll want a progressive press. You can spend a lot of time and energy looking at different equipment out there, but ultimately you're find through research that you're going to be the best off with a "Dillon 550B". It's the gold standard for progressive reloading. Do yourself a favor and type "Dillon 550B" into a youtube search and start watching videos.

Now that you've got a press, you'll need a scale. If you want an electronic (I'd recommend it) you should go with a "RCBS chargemaster 1500 combo". There's other ones out there, but this is the standard.