• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Str8himalaya

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Feb 14, 2012
    Hello,

Here's the deal. I have now completely fallen in love with the 1911 platform, just like many of you said I would when I first joined this site a few months ago, and to my pocket books dislike. I absolutely love my Kimber Compact Aluminum, and it carries extremely well. I have progressed to the point with my smithing skills that I actually can completely detail strip it and reassemble it (yes i know, i'm a rookie). Now, I am getting the itch for a nice 1911, stainless, or at least stainless slide. I ran into a SW1911SC the other day with a bobtail, and JUST missed it. That being said, I'm on the hunt. My question is, how many of you that have shot the alloy frame kimber can give me a few experiences on how the others shoot with regards to recoil management, fit, and looks? I love my Kimber, and I will never part with it, but looking forward to my next purchase. Any suggestions, I'm open to officers size or full size as I do not have a full size as of yet.

drgnrobo

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Mar 9, 2009
    ft. wayne
    Ive owned one aluminum framed 1911 & that ruined me on ever owning another(frame cracked ,feed ramp would have hang ups with all bullet types prior to the break). I know that the alloy is better now but I'd much rather have an all steel 1911 IMHO.The smallest 1911 I would recommend is something in a commander size (4") just because almost anything smaller seems to be finicky with ammo selection.Im big on anything from Springfeild Armory ,have several & they all are solid performers.

Hookeye

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Dec 19, 2011
    armpit of the midwest
    I dunno, I have a Commander, it's been a good rig. I kinda think everybody should have 3 1911's:

shorty lightweight for CC

commander for nightstand, backup CC, optional fun gun