• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • bikeman

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Jan 10, 2011
    Bloomington
    I've been loading pistol cartridges for about 3 years now. I will be moving into rifle reloading this coming year as I have a few rifles that are expensive to feed. Before I started loading I followed all the recommendations and made sure I had all the equipment I needed. One thing I have never used is the powder burn rate chart. How do you experienced loaders use this chart? Do I really need one?

mac45

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 17, 2008
    I don't use it at all.
    It's sorta interesting to know that powder X is faster or slower than powder Y, but that's ALL it tells you. Two adjacent powders could be the same thing in different wrappers, or they could be wildly different. There's no way of knowing.
    Just my $.02

slow1911s

Master
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Apr 3, 2008
    Indianapolis
    The only time I've consulted one is if I'm considering changing to another powder. I use fast burning powders like Titegroup and N320. So if someone recommends a new load to me with a powder I'm not experienced with, I look at the chart to see how fast it is compared to what I'm using. Generally, if it is considerably slower, I pass.

kludge

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Mar 13, 2008
    Generally speaking, a certain cartridge will work with a certain range of powders, and generally speaking, for that cartridge, lighter bullets will work a little better with powders that burn a little faster and heavier bullets will work a little better with powders that burn a little slower.

As an example, H4985 is a good mid-range powder for .223 Rem and will work well with most bullet weights. H4198 burns faster and you might want to look there if you are shooting 40-55gr bullets. Varget burns slower and works well for bullets from 69-90 grains.