• ...and so much more!
  • NotAnthony

Plinker
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 25, 2023
    North Vernon
    I’m new to reloading and currently only reload the 30-06. I also have a 35 whelen that’s just my favorite rifle due to the age and nostalgia. I’m wondering what has to be done to use my 30-06 brass for 35 whelen??

Aszerigan

Grandmaster
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    336   0   0
    Aug 20, 2009
    Bean Blossom, IN
    They can be cut and sized, but it's a multiple stage process. I usually don't recommend buying some once fired brass online - gunbroker, armslist, etc, but this is a rare case that I do. It's going to be pricey, actually quite pricy, but it'll give you a better starting point. Only my opinion.

drm-hp

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Jan 23, 2019
    Brownsburg
    I have made several hundred 35 Whelen cases from annealed GI 30-06 cases. This is one of the reasons this case was used in the first place.
    1st - Use Imperial Sizing Wax inside neck, run case over expanding ball in 8x57 die.
    2nd - Anneal cases, (this step may or may not be needed)
    3rd - Use Imperial Wax inside and outside of case. Run through 35 Whelen die.
    4th - Trim to length if needed, clean inside and out, load case. With care (annealing) I have gotten 5 reloads easily with these cases. GI 30-06 cases are very common so I have always stopped at 5 loadings.
    For 30 + years the Whelen has been my favorite cartridge. The history and remarkable Men that have used it are appealing to me also.

Last edited:

DadSmith

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Oct 21, 2018
    Ripley County
    Can anyone armchair the difference for me between the .35 Whelen and the .35 Remington?
    The 35 Whelen is a a lot more powerful than the 35 Remington. It's a little longer COL IIRC it's around 3" where the 35 Remington is around 2.5"