Shooting a shotgun without a choke present?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • STFU

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    17   0   0
    Sep 30, 2015
    Hamilton County
    While I am not new to shotguns, I am new to owning a shotgun that accepts chokes.
    My 1301 came with a Beretta OEM IC choke in it. (I used different chokes for the steel match this past weekend.)

Not that I have any intentions to do this but...(My guess is: it's a really bad idea.)
    Will the threads be damaged by running the barrel with no choke screwed in?

Even if not immediately, over time maybe?

Last edited:

TJ Kackowski

Let it begin here.
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    133   0   1
    Jun 8, 2012
    Hendricks County
    If shot without a choke screwed in, on an infrequent basis, I've never heard of the threads getting damaged from lead shot; steel shot yes, but not lead. For sure the threads will get fouled up, and the more you shoot without a choke screwed in, the worse it will get.

Bigger question is why would you ever want to do this?

Chokes are cheap, even a custom made choke isn't going to break the bank. Fiddle around with the different chokes for the games you're playing and eventually you'll hit on the right one for each game. The hard part is keeping track of the data so that you can segregate the keepers from the sellers.

STFU

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    17   0   0
    Sep 30, 2015
    Hamilton County