• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jzdank

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 6, 2015
    Chesterton
    I had been shooting the same Beretta 303 for about 17 years. I recently switched to a brand new Maxus. I like it, and I got a deal on it.

I went to pattern my Maxus for turkeys and the cnter of the pattern was off to left by 3 inches at 20 yards.

I don't want to make a long story longer, but after doing a little bit of homework, I found that my beretta was built with 1/4" "cast off" or that the butt stock was 1/4" right of the bore axis when looking down the barrel.

The Maxus comes with a neutral cast, and after putting in a shim to give it it 1/8" cast off, it brought the pattern halfway back to where I was aiming. I've emailed Browning to see if I can use two shims, and my problem will hopefully e resolved.

I knew I would have a bit of learning curve after such a lengthy relationship with the beretta, but I figured there might be someone else out there who might deal with the same problem.

Lesson learned? Pattern your shotguns.

jzdank

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 6, 2015
    Chesterton
    Thanks Hookeye. My Beretta had a center bead.

Spoke to a Browning tech today on the phone. He advised a center bead because the guns aren't designed to run 2 shims.

Mgderf

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    May 30, 2009
    Lafayette
    Why are these "cast" that way to start with?
    What advantage is there to casting off center.
    Sounds counter-productive to me.

17 squirrel

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    May 15, 2013
    I don't think any American Shotgun Co have positive or negative cast, they are built with neutral cast.
    To my memory the purpose of both is simply to make it easier to align the eye with the sights.

t-squared

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    May 9, 2012
    Crown Point