• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • IndianaSlim

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Mar 14, 2009
    I've been loading 25.5 gr varget behind a 69 gr Sierra hpbt with Winchester primers. I'm currently out of Winchester primers but have 5k of federals on hand. Is this going to change the characteristics of this load any? Shooting this week isn't an option and while aquiring more win primers isn't a big deal I'd like to use what I have on hand if possible. Thanks for the help!!

EvilElmo

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Feb 11, 2009
    Dearborn Co.
    I am by no means an expert on the topic but I don't believe it would have any noticeable effect. The primer's job is simply to ignite the powder charge. As long as you're not changing the charge or other characteristics of the load I'd expect it to perform the same.

The Keymaster

Master
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Mar 12, 2010
    Manistee County, MI
    It will probably change a little, but most likely not a noticeable amount. I have noticed differences between lot numbers of the same brand of primer. The only way to be sure is to load a few, and get out the old chrony.

Leo

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Mar 3, 2011
    Lafayette, IN
    Federal primers generally have the reputation of being softer. Target guns with really light triggers are recommended to use Federals to insure ignition. Your load of 25.5 Varget under a 69 Sierra is a fairly warm load. Check your spent cases with Winchester primers. Are the primers pretty flat? A softer primer may not hold the pressure. I always use CCI or Winchesters. I have never used Federals in a rifle, but since you cannot try the loads, I would not want you to show up at a match and have your stuff not work.

Broom_jm

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 10, 2009