• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • aspiringsnd

Plinker
    Rating - 87.5%
    7   1   0
    Jan 24, 2016
    Westfield
    I grew-up with a gun in my hand -- mostly a shotgun. About 2 1/2 years ago (1 month after my first son was born) I made the conscious decision to start shooting my pistol (singular; I only owned one at the time) regularly, just in case I had to use it for something other than paper. Fast-Forward to the present and I can say confidently I would pick 9mm round count over power of 45 ACP and 38/357.

Someone told me the most dangerous gun is one you don't shoot -- so I started shooting (in my wife's opinion, a lot). Whatever you get, make sure you consistently shoot it. Get something you're comfortable shooting, and shoot it a lot. Shoot against a timer or shoot a dueling tree against a friend -- do something to get your heart rate up and shoot under stress. Practice reloading. Practice dry-firing. Worry more about your proficiency than the bullet size.

This is worth exactly what you paid for it.

please note: I in no way believe shooting a friendly match is the same type of stress you will feel in a life or death situation -- I do believe you should do everything you can to condition yourself and be prepared if such a situation arises.

m_deaner

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 1, 2008
    Eastside Indy
    I feel I were in your position I would consider a Smith 627. You get 8 shots of 38/357 in a big heavy revolver that helps absorb recoil. I have both a 625 and a 627PC and for me, the 627 is clearly the better gun.

Flagg

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Sep 26, 2010
    N/A
    Rifle.