Value of a nickel Smith and Wesson 586-no dash.

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • bullet

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Feb 27, 2011
    Seymour
    I'm looking into trading for a nickel Smith and Wesson 586-no dash. I'm having a hard time finding out the value of this.
    I found one in the forum that sold for 550, but it didn't say if it had a dash or not. So I put the price at that.
    The guy tells me it's worth 900 and as far as I know he maybe right. I'm not a Smith expert to say the least and there isn't that many of these being sold for me to research.
    Can you Smith guys give me a value of this? I have to be able to sell this at a realistic fair price.
    On a side note I think the gun is beautiful. It has a nice classic look. It would look nice next to my Python.

Here is the pictures he's send me.

Last edited:

led4thehed2

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    68   0   0
    Oct 16, 2011
    Indianapolis
    He's correct in that the 586 is less commonly seen for sale than the 686, 66, or 19. Nickel finish is also less common. Looks like it's listed on Armslist for $850 and includes 70 rounds of unnamed ammunition.

I'd say $900 is too high, and $550 would be robbing him blind. I'd say $750 would be a great deal, $800 fair, $850 okay, and $900 a big high.