Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Plinker

Question AR15 Buffer Good from the bad?

I guess my question is why in the world would a gun company put a gold in color buffer soft aluminum in a new gun? I shot 126 rounds and it chewed up the edge about a 1/4" in diameter and pretty deep too, I see some buffers have an H stamped in the middle what is a good one to buy for a semi auto? and the buffer spring is black should I change that as well? thanks and look forward to your guy's advice.

Something is not right and it probably isn't the quality of the buffer. You can get a brand new one of premium quality and it will end up damaged also.

If you can post a picture it would give the experts here a better idea - I'm no AR expert by the way.

I'd check to make sure the spring loaded retainer/pin that mounts vertically (in the rear of lower) is intact.

I don't think the buffer would travel beyond it a whole 1/4" but close.

When you separate the upper and lower does the buffer stay in the tube?

Plinker
    The 1/4" is the ware on the rim of the circle not in depth, The retainer chewed up the edge pretty bad like the buffer was made of soft materal,and yes I'll be posting some pictures soon learning how to do it on this site,thanks for your input

As an FYI, the "H" stamp in the middle refers to the weight of the buffer. H = Heavy, which is heavier than the standard Carbine Buffer. H2 is even heavier.

The heavier the buffer, the more energy it absorbs from the recoil, and it will also reduce cyclic rate if you are firing in full auto or burst (if your gun is of course properly eqiupped and licensed).
    Blessed is the nation whose God is the LORD. Psalm 33:12

Do kids still play Cops and Robbers, or are they just taught both are equally bad and given a participation ribbon after a rousing game of scoreless Everyone's a Winner Ball?
    - BehindBlueI's

Shooter
    What model, what company, need some specs brother.

Is it a piston based gun?