• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Nam1911

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 8, 2015
    Evansville
    Ok I am a noob to shotguns. I carry a handgun everyday but I don't hunt much. Way too many ticks and lime disease around here for me to care to hunt much. I recently bought a 12 gauge pump and I am setting it up for another HD gun besides my 1911.

On the topic of 00 buck loads, what is considered a good pattern at 25 yards? This is about the furthest distant from my back door to the back of the separate garage. In the house the longest across room distance is about 20 feet which I'm not really worried about patterning as most 00 buck loads will be center mass anyways.

halfmileharry

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    65   0   0
    Dec 2, 2010
    South of Indy
    EVERY gun will pattern different. The only way you'll get this answered it to get it out and shoot it. I usually tape up newspaper for hd loads. The holes are large enough not to get lost in the print.
    Try a couple types of shells as well. Some might surprise you with some poor results.

Spear Dane

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Sep 4, 2015
    Kokomo area
    Why do you assume 00 is the best load choice? I did a serious amount of research on HD 12g ammo and a bit to my surprise...00 was not it.

DocIndy

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    38   0   0
    Mar 30, 2010
    Franklin
    My HD shotgun is loaded with 3" #4 buckshot. That's what it patterns best with. It also happens to be what it likes best for coyotes with a simple change of the choke tube.

Nam1911

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 8, 2015
    Evansville
    I don't assume anything. I like the 00 buck load and I'm just asking what is considered a good group at 25 yards. I have a few choices local from the lgs. I do plan on doing testing and patterning but I don't know what is a good pattern or not.