• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • gunwh

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 4, 2010
    Im looking to do some part swapping on my 1991a1 to try to improve it. it is currently all original as you see it in my pic. it has a locking bull barrell in it instead of the standered barrell. I like the bullett proof series by chip micormick but hought id see what you all might recomend putting on it for a carry gun.

dom1104

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Mar 23, 2010
    What are you trying to improve on it? It seems that might be the first question.

Trigger pull? sights? ease of carry?

gunwh

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 4, 2010
    sights and and general micanics. extended beaver tail, slide relise, ambi safty. just looking for the dest bang for the buck

dom1104

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Mar 23, 2010
    I am not an expert on 1911s by any means, but if I owned a Colt, which I do, and I wanted to change it, which I dont, I would probably send it back to the Custom Shop there at Colt.

A lifetime warrenty is a good thing, and messing around with it on your own voiding the warrenty is probably not something I would do.

That said, the Mcormick parts are reported to be of good quality, and I am sure more "modification knowledgable" members will be here shortly to advise.

Either way.. sounds fun!

Disposable Heart

Grandmaster
    Rating - 99.6%
    246   1   1
    Apr 18, 2008
    Greenfield, IN