• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jforrest

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 19, 2009
    Porter County
    I've searched and searched this site and have not found any topics even on the subject of the Remington 6.8 spc cartridge so if there is just show me a link.

I've been saving up for an AR for quite a while now and am planning on buying my first AR in the next month or 2. It is mainly going to be a target gun and I'm going for accuracy short and long range, but will also serve as a coyote/varmint shooter as well. I really like the Stag M6L or M7L. I have heard nothing but good things about Stag and since I'm a lefty their left hand models are icing on the cake.

I have done my research between the calibers and as far as ballistics, the 6.8 is superior. Shoots flatter, holds its energy longer, doesn't drift in the wind as easy, the list goes on. My problem arises in cost and availability. I'm a college student so money is a little tight. The .223 is a lot cheaper to shoot and I have never seen 6.8 in stores only online. I reload so I can brush off the price difference a little but I think the 6.8 will still be quite a bit more expensive. There are also a lot more options for .223 that I can experiment with at this time. I like the extra punch the 6.8 delivers, but I also think it might be a little much for coyotes if I'm trying to save the pelts.

I'm really leaning towards the .223 because I want to shoot this gun as much as possible so the cheaper the round the more I can shoot. I could possibly look into an AR chambered in 308 but I still bounce back to the .223 for price.