• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • finn

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 27, 2011
    I am new to reloading and have ran into a problem with the primer holes in some of the used brass. It seems that some of them have a small primer and others have small primers with a sleeve around them. When I try to put the new primers in the ones that have the sleeves it won't seat and pops out of the press. What am I doing wrong?

kludge

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Mar 13, 2008
    It's a primer crimp. Used on mil-spec ammo. Keeps the primers in place when fired in chambers with generous headspace.

Use a chamfering tool to remove the crimp, it doesn't take much, them prime.

jdhaines

Master
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Feb 24, 2009
    Toledo, OH
    Haivng just got one, the Dillon super swage 600 is the cream of the crop for de-crimping rifle brass. If you are doing large volume or have a group of reloaders, invest in one sooner rather than later. The RCBS tool isn't too bad if you aren't doing a huge number. Lots of good luck using various types of cutting tool to remove the crimp as well.

finn

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 27, 2011
    Outstanding! This is exactly what it is, thanks for all of the information.

wsenefeld

Master
    Rating - 100%
    69   0   0
    Dec 2, 2011
    Boone Co.
    Finn, if you are in the area of boone county, you can stop by and use my Dillon super 600 to remove your crimp and decide if that's the route you want to take

finn

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 27, 2011
    Thanks for the offer. That looks like a great tool that I may need to pick up soon. I have the Lyman case prep express that should get me through until I find the Dillon 600.

Electronrider

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Apr 2, 2008
    White County