• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Spike_351

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 19, 2012
    Scott County
    I am currently working on 30-30 win. Loads using a 30 cal (308.) Hornady 150 gr gmx bullet, according to the LEE book the OAL should be 2.550 for a 150 gr bullet, how ever even with my die turned all the way in as far as I can get it I can only get down to 2.590 which tells me something is seriously wrong and the lee data could be incorrect for this type of bullet, I am not very experienced with these rounds but I have reloaded other rou ds long enough to know when something isnt right. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Also I have noticed the 44. Mag data between the lee book amd lyman 49 are incredibly different for a lead 240 grain using unique the lee states a max of 7gr whereas the lyman states 11.7.

billybob44

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    385   0   0
    Sep 22, 2010
    In the Man Cave
    Bullet Style??

Hornady 150 gr gmx bullet

What style is a "gmx" bullet? Are you loading for a lever gun? If so, only load a cannulure style bullet, and crimp on the cannulure..Bill.

mac45

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 17, 2008
    The GMX is a Spitzer type bullet and should not be loaded in a rifle with a tube magazine.
    Period.
    The pointy tip can set off the primer of the round ahead of it.
    Hornandy doesn't list data for that bullet in a .30-30 for just that reason.

Now, if you're loading for an Encore, or a Savage 99, give Hornady a call, I'm sure they can set you up with data.

dugsagun

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 21, 2013
    portage
    The 150g gmx is for the 308, the 140g monoflex is meant for the 30-30 in a tube fed gun. Since yer worried about the oal in a 30-30 im figuring yer loading for a lever action rifle. Go to hornadys website to see the bullets.

Broom_jm

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 10, 2009