• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • PaulKersey

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    22   0   0
    Sep 16, 2012
    Evansville
    I am fairly new to the AK world and looking to buy a case or two of 7.62x39 ammo for range use and long term storage. I am shooting a Century C39v2, and not surprisingly, it eats anything (so far). Is there any significant difference between the bulk foreign ammo, such as Golden Tiger, Tula, Wolf, etc.? Do you just buy whatever is the best price, or is there a specific brand that is clearly better than the others?

pudly

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    35   0   0
    Nov 12, 2008
    Undisclosed
    As you noted, most any foreign ammo will work fine. My SKS seems to be most accurate with Golden Tiger, so that's what I've stocked up on, but all fire reliably.

AmmoManAaron

Master
    Rating - 100%
    37   0   0
    Feb 20, 2015
    I-get-around
    Of the foreign made steel cased stuff, Golden Tiger is usually thought of as the best, but the difference doesn't seem to amount to much. There isn't much of a price difference, so go with what makes you happy. Best bet is to try some of each brand and see if you can tell a difference in reliability or accuracy in YOUR gun.

snorko

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    364   0   0
    Apr 3, 2008
    Evansville, IN
    I agree with the above, for blasting I will get whatever is cheapest. SGammo has Golden Tiger priced pretty low and its reputation is for accuracy and reliability. Bonus is it has a laquered case with sealed primer and bullet. Having corrosion tested 5,000 plus rounds, I can definitively state it holds up the best.

Sling10mm

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 12, 2012