• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • copper

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    Jun 20, 2009
    Shelby County
    I am so stinking irratated..I'm no expert (insert "tyler) by a long (long) shot..
    But, I think i can get a good edge on most of my knives. Then why in the heck do I have so much trouble with certain knives. I'v been working on my crkt dogfish for two days and just can't get it sharp. I had the same problem with my Buck 102, it took me forever to put a good edge on it.
    Maybe i just need to be more patient.

Fogerty rocks

tyler34

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Dec 2, 2008
    bloomington
    even as an expert:rolleyes: I still get plenty of knives that are a pain in the ass to sharpen and I just wanna throw across the room.

rhino

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Mar 18, 2008
    Indiana
    And, there are some knives that won't take a decent edge (for more than a few seconds). Some of the crappier 420J2 knives are essentially ornamental (not to be confused with 420HC with a good heat treatment), not much better than 300-series stainless butter knives.

Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Dec 17, 2009
    Tampa, FL
    Bad edge geometry (aka bad manufacture) is hard to fix. I have a scar on my right wrist where I embedded an old Buck Nighthawk after working on it with a stone for hours and getting to the point of trying to force the blade so hard against the stone that I slipped and nearly cut an artery. It's a reminder that a good knife works with you and a bad knife isn't worth the effort.

Really the only way to fix bad edge geometry is to establish a new edge. I use a belt grinder for this.

grunt soldier

Master
    Rating - 100%
    71   0   0
    May 20, 2009
    hamilton county