• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Jeepcrazed

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 25, 2011
    ok. I am only beginning to learn about blades, but I'm looking for a knife to give my dad for his 70th birthday. Something nice to replace his..."probably got it at a flea market for $2" knife. I'm not looking to go insane, but the budget could go up to the $200 range.
    Like me, he's a freakish lefty. Wondering what, if anything, that changes for us, in terms of looking for blades. Locking mechanisms, etc.
    Looking for a folder for everyday use, just to cut whatever my 70 year old dad might decide he wants to cut. He works around the house, and they have a camper they use, so he uses his knife a fair amount.

Bradsknives

Master
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Mar 1, 2010
    Greenfield, IN.
    Look at the Benchmade models that use the axis lock system. Also, look at some of the Spyderco models that use the ball bearing lock system (Manix 2 models as an example). Benchmade's axis lock and Spyderco's ball bearing lock are ambidextrous....perfect for lefties! :twocents:

Corporal D

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Aug 16, 2010
    SE Side
    It's more than double your price range... but hear me out. Chris Reeve makes some lefty models, his knives are outstanding. It'll last him for the rest of his days, and then since you're also a lefty, it'll serve you well after with the added sentimental value of having been your dad's. Personally I think it'd be worth the investment long-term, but I understand how convincing the wife to starve the children for a few weeks might not go over so well lol.

Chris Reeve Left Handed Large Sebenza 21, 3.625" S35VN Blade, Titanium Handle - KnifeCenter

I realize that probably falls under "insane" to you, but I thought you might want it as an option.

Otherwise, go with Brad's suggestions, those are all solid knives.