• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • philbert001

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Mar 4, 2012
    Allen County
    So I am just getting into handloading pistol calibers, and I bought a pound of unique, since it seems to cover ALL the bases. (calibers)

My question is, if it's versatile enough to load nearly every caliber and weight of handgun bullets, it has to have a weak side. An Achilles heel, if you will.

What is the downside?

I bought it, to load up 1000, 225gr cast .45 bullets that were gifted to me. I am now planning to load some .40, and some .38spl and .357.

Is there a downside for some calibers, over others, when using unique? Is it great for .45, but I should run something else for .40? .38/.357? (Or vice, versa)

Input is appreciated. thanks!

Fullmag

Master
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Sep 4, 2011
    It's better in the 38/357 than 45acp, don't know about the 40s&w. Unique meters different than most powders or in other words not as well. Have heard that it meters well with the all plastic Lee powder measure.

For 15.00 or so I might get one myself. Was with a buddy of mine and we was loading so 4064, notorious stick powder and the Lee measure did very well.

Cynical

Sharpshooter
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Nov 21, 2013
    peru